Skip navigation

So, “Iron Chef” Michael Symon is opening a new restaurant in Milwaukee… While I have questions regarding celebrity chef restaurants I am happy to see that attention is being spread out of Chicago, L.A., and NYC… Symon already has 2 places in Cleveland, so he’s a Midwesterner try to keep it here… Im surprised that more chefs dont look here for spots to open new places… I mean they get a lot of their produce, meat and cheese from here… It will be exciting\interesting to see how this turns out..

2 Comments

  1. Glad to hear Symon’s opening a new restaurant in your area. You deserve it.

    I can respect Symon for more reasons than I can respect other “celebrity” chefs. Symon didn’t hunt down celebrity, it found him. When Michael Ruhlman documented Symon’s struggle to open Lola in his book “The Soul of a Chef,” his magnetism came through every page. He was a star waiting to be born.

    Compare that to these knuckleheads that fill every time slot on Food Network and you’ll see that he’s heads and shoulders above all of them. The man can cook, and cook well. He’s one of the few chefs who can cook offal in a way that would turn anyone on to it.

    If you get a chance to go, let me know how it is. I’ve never tasted his food, but he’s a breath of fresh air to Food Network.

    • gambler72
    • Posted November 25, 2008 at 7:37 pm
    • Permalink

    Thank for checking out the blog… I will definitely give a full report WHEN , not IF I go…

    And yes I tend to agree… as I learn more and more in regards to high end gourmet I am struck with a fight between celebrity chef, food network host (not chef) and just plain great cook… Ruhlmans book is on my list of things to read and Im looking forward to it, now that I know there are writings in regards to Symon… I was already looking forward to what he had to say about Achatz.


Leave a Reply

