Skip navigation

As I continue to enter the waters of foodie\gourmet\snob\gastrofreak etc etc etc I’m learning about new restaurants. Some that have been world famous for ages and some that are so “on the cutting edge” that they are brand new. Ive updated my “Places to eat before I R.I.P.” to include links to each of the places on that short list, please take a second and check them out…

Or better yet take a look here at what many have coined as the best restaurant in the world… Yes Im speaking of El Bulli

They are already sold out for 2009… in case you haven’t noticed its not yet 2009 and there are no reservations left… They serve 55 people a night and that’s it… no more… Chef Ferran Adria and his staff are responsible for starting many many of the trends in find dining today… Trends that are now old and outdated for them are still amazingly brilliant and unbelievable to us… Who out there watches Iron Chef America???? Who has seen chefs create a “foam” it came from El Bulli… Who has seen the little fake “caviar” that look just like caviar but are entirely something else? it came from El Bulli. How about anyone creating some sort of flavored “cotton candy”? it came from El Bulli… Including scents in your dining experience such as the guys from moto wrapping utensils in herbs that are not to be eaten… only the scent to induce flavors…

Ill be the first to admit I dont know if El Bulli and chef Adria actually invented these techniques or not but there are videos of him and his staff doing this sort of thing YEARS before it showed up here to the general public… So to all of my foodie friends out there, Im assuming you already knew, but if not.. the future is coming from Spain…

Yes I know…. “DUH… Gee Scott you sure are on the pulse of fine dining by telling us that Spain has some amazing food” Hey you know what… Im still new and Im sure there are others just like me that love to learn new things… So go out and learn!!!!

7 Comments

  1. You want to know how hard it is to get a rezzie at El Bulli? I was told last year that this friend of a friend of mine actually slept with one of the higher ups (name withheld) just to get her name on the list. And even then, she could only get a reservation for two.

    The Adria brothers are on the forefront of the Molecular Gastronomy movement, and it’s something I’ve been interested in for a couple of years but never saw it as something approachable for a home chef until recently (details on that coming soon). It was Grant Achatz’s visit to Adria’s laboratory that turned his career around. When he returned to the states, he quit his position at The French Laundry and started working on the concept for Alenia.

    I honestly think the closest I’ll get to El Bulli is the book I got for Christmas “A Day at El Bulli” or perhaps the cookbooks once they’re released in English. Until then, I’ll live vicariously through others and their magical experiences. Suffice it to say, it’s an entirely different world of cuisine and it’s one I could seriously get lost in.

    • gambler72
    • Posted December 29, 2008 at 3:34 pm
    • Permalink

    Yeah I cant imagine what the wait is to get in that place… I was actually looking into trying to do some of the molec. gastro at home… If I can figure out where to get my grubby paws on some agar agar and the other chemicals haha… Hmmm I feel a mad scientist day coming on… Now I need to find where to get some liquid nitro…. Thanks for checking out the blog Phil!!!

    • gambler72
    • Posted December 29, 2008 at 3:53 pm
    • Permalink

    I thought the books were already in english… here Tada!!!! Also check this shit out… at home bitches

  2. Ha! Ordered and in home already. 🙂 I made a friend just before the Christmas break who sent me a DVD of Jose Andres making yogurt spheres with Sodium Alganate. You can order your stuff from http://www.le-sanctuaire.com — they’re having a sale on all sorts of stuff right now – different flavorings and pastes, etc. Jo at My Last Bite explained the whole process and actually made it look like something I know it’s not . . . easy! I’ll let you know how it goes. Amuse Busche may never be the same again.

    Thanks for the link to the book. I had no idea it was available on Amazon . . . F**K ME – $200 bones.

    • gambler72
    • Posted December 29, 2008 at 4:03 pm
    • Permalink

    awesome site!!!! Yeah and thats just for one of the many books they have out… damn… Im sooooo ordering something and seeing what I can blow up in the kitchen

  3. Ha Ha! Totally. This is like my childhood dream come true. Chemistry in the kitchen and my Mom can’t kick me out because I’m actually making something for dinner! This takes my theory of Power Tools in the kitchen to new heights.

    • jess
    • Posted December 29, 2008 at 8:26 pm
    • Permalink

    I think you can buy agar agar at some of the health food stores … And please don’t blow up my kitchen … that could seriously be grounds for divorce.


Leave a Reply

